Setting Up Speech on my Mac

MacBook Pro – Setting up Speech

I had previously set up “speech” on my mac to be able to listen to PDF files while I was on the airplane.  I get dizzy sometimes reading on the planes, so I thought it would be a great way to utilize a mac function and get some extra credit for class.  Unfortunately, the voices are extremely boring to listen to on Mac.  I’m not sure if there is a way you can get a plug-in for some other voices.  Like James Earl Jones would be a good one maybe haha.  I seriously fell asleep after about 5 to 10 minutes of listening to “Alex” and “Albert”

I’m using a MacBook pro running Snow Leopard 10.6.8 mac OSX with 8GB ram and an Intel Core 2 Duo processor.  I’m pumping some serious photo editing and music power out of this baby!  Time for a clean up soon though.

It was super easy to set up.  I just went to my dock where all the mac applications most utilized or placed there are located.  This is where you will find Safari, Firefox, Word, Text/edit, etc.  All I did was select System Preferences -> Speech -> change the settings to your preference -> hit apply.

The Screen shot below will show the final page with all the settings I had set up.

I personally did not enjoy listening to the readings.  I found it somewhat useful to listen and read at the same time, but I noticed I read WAY faster than the mac presets could read.  This was super distracting, but  I guess I just read at a higher level than my computer!  (haha- for now)…

Leave a Reply

